top of page


​A five member board oversees the activities of the City of Rensselaer Industrial Development Agency.  Pursuant to a Common Council Resolution No. 100 adopted July 21st, 1982, the IDA board is comprised of the Mayor as chairman of the IDA, the chairs of the Zoning Board of Appeals and the Planning Commission, and the Common Council minority leader and majority leader. Pursuant to Resolution No. 5 of August 5th, 2020 the Common Council modified the aforementioned Resolution to appoint to the IDA the President of the Common Council, and an "At-Large" Member from the Common Council for those occasions when there are no minority political party members serving on the Common Council. Non-voting Members of the IDA include the current CEO/Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer, Special Counsel, and Executive Assistant.

Board Members


Michael E. Stammel



John DeFrancesco

Common Council President


Andrew P. Kretzschmar

Common Council Member

Board Member

William Bulnes

Zoning Board of Appeals Chairperson

Board Member

 Raymond Stevens

Planning Commission Chairperson

Agency Staff

Chief Executive Officer/Treasurer

John J. Bonesteel

Executive Assistant

Special Counsel

A. Joseph Scott, III, Esq.

Hodgson Russ LLP

Madeline Rizzo

bottom of page