top of page


​A five member board oversees the activities of the City of Rensselaer Industrial Development Agency.  Pursuant to a Common Council resolution adopted June 21st, 1982, the IDA board is comprised of the Mayor as chairman of the IDA, the chairs of the Zoning Board of Appeals and the Planning Commission, and the Common Council minority leader and majority leader. Pursuant to Resolution No. 8 of August 1st, 2018 the Common Council modified the aforementioned Resolution to appoint to the IDA the President of the Common Council, and an "At-Large" Member from the Common Council for those occasions when there are no minority political party members serving on the Common Council. Non-voting Members of the IDA include the current CEO/Treasurer, Secretary and Assistant Treasurer/Special Counsel.

  • Chairman:  Michael E. Stammel, Mayor 

  • Vice Chairman:  John DeFrancesco, Common Council President

  • Secretary: Andrew P. Kretzschmar, Member from Common Council

  • William Bulnes, Zoning Board of Appeals Chairperson

  • Ray Stevens, Planning Commission Chairperson

  • CEO/Treasurer:  John J. Bonesteel

  • Special Counsel: A. Joseph Scott, Esq. Hodgson Russ LLP

  • Assistant Treasurer/Counsel: Paul Goldman, Esq.

  • Executive Assistant: Madeline Rizzo

Board Members

Staff Members

bottom of page